Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Association for Faculty Women Katherine Lovrich

Katherine Lovrich

Association for Faculty Women’s 2012 Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award

The 2012 Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award was presented to Katherine Lovrich, Professor in the Department of Psychology, at the December meeting.

2012 Smith Leadership Award Kathrine

Left:  President Emeritus Sam Smith; Center, Katherine Lovrich, winner of the 2012-13 Smith Leadership Award; Right: Interim VP for Research/Dean of the Graduate School, Nancy Magnuson
Katherine Lovrich has served in many roles in her 22 years at WSU, setting herself apart as a leader, mentor and collaborator who has been consistently committed to creating and sustaining an environment that helps at-risk young adults succeed in college.  She currently coordinates WSU’s Learning Assistance Programs and serves as an academic counselor to high-risk and non-certified students at the Center for Advising and Career Development.  Katherine has trained many others to serve as effective counselors and tutors, and she established a professional advising organization as well as a professional development program for advisors at WSU.
Ms. Lovrich was praised by numerous nominators:  “…[Katherine] exemplifies the qualities of a true leader: a vision of the highest ideals of our profession, creative thought and action in her work, motivation to improve the academic advising profession… and mentorship to those around her”; “Katherine’s leadership is the primary reason I now represent WSU alumnae as a leader in my own career”; “I attribute much of my success as an academic advisor… to her patient guidance in the early days of my career.”
The Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award was established in 2000 to show AFW’s appreciation to President Smith for his leadership in advancing the role of women at WSU. The criteria for the award are as follows: “The recipient of the Award shall be an AFW member whose leadership has advanced the role of women in the Washington State University system and/or who has demonstrated leadership in higher education, the community, or her profession at the local, state, regional, national or international level.”  The Smith Leadership award will be acknowledged during WSU Academic Showcase in Spring 2013.