Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Association for Faculty Women Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award

The Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award was established in 2000 to show AFW’s appreciation to President Emeritus Smith for his leadership in advancing the role of women at WSU. The criteria for the award are as follows: “The recipient of the Award shall be an AFW member whose leadership has advanced the role of women in the Washington State University system and/or who has demonstrated leadership in higher education, the community, or her profession at the local, state, regional, national or international level.”

For nomination information, please access the nomination page here:

YearAward Recipient
2022-23 Karen Weathermon
2021-22 Celestina Barbosa-Leiker
2021-21 Mary Wack & Jo Washburn
2019 Catherine "Katie" Cooper
2018Ana Maria Rodriguez-Vivaldi
2017Jill McCluskey
2016Julia Pomerenk
2015Laura Lavine
2014Sheila Converse
2013Margaret Black
2012Katherine Lovrich
2011Rebecca Craft
2010Carol Ivory
2009Lori Carris
2008Erica Austin
2007Marcia Saneholtz
2006Muriel Oaks
2005Nancy Magnuson
2004KNona Liddell
2003Carolyn Clark
2002Sue Armitage
2001Fran McSweeney
2000Sue Durrant
Special RecognitionJudy Mitchell